Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

2 Feb

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by: Mindy Kaling

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?Because it’s so honest and fresh, and because even though I haven’t watched Mindy Kaling (yet) and didn’t know anything about her before I read the book, I now really like her.

Because it took me only a few hours to read, and Kaling comments in the beginning of her book, “This book will take you two days to read. Did you even see the cover? It’s mostly pink. If you’re reading this book every night for months, something is not right.”

Because I totally relate to Mindy before she became famous. And because it made me relate to post-famous Mindy as well, because I could totally see myself in pre-famous Mindy, which bolstered my confidence that some day, I’ll write a book detailing my rise to fame that will embolden an aspiring young woman to become famous like me.

Here’s an excerpt!

The only other thing I had keeping me in Los Angeles was that I’d been hired as a staff writer for six episodes of a mid-season NBC show that was the remake of a British show called The Office (Notice how I laid in all that dramatic irony here? Like in Titanic, Kate Winslet’s character loved those weird paintings by a little-known artist named Picasso? And in the audience of the theatre you were laughing to yourself because you knew Picasso  turned out to be kind of a big deal? I’m trying to tell you that I’m Picasso.)

If you liked this post, check out my other book recommendations!

Whadya think?

