Have You Been With Too Many Guys?

31 Jan

I’m not judging; that’s just the premise for the romantic comedy, What’s Your Number?

About the Trailer

I’m always wary about showing trailers since so many, like this one, give away the entire movie. In fact, sometimes I can watch a trailer and feel the same sense of satisfaction that I get from watching a whole movie.

I think, in the end, it’s good to watch a trailer so you know if you’d want to see the movie, and then wait a long-enough period of time so that you don’t really remember anything about it, other than it made you want to see the movie.

About the Movie

Yes, a lot of romantic comedies are silly (When in Rome comes to mind). Some are even flat-out bad (When in Rome comes to mind).

But I liked What’s Your Number? (Though I don’t like question marks at the end of the title.)

I liked the humor, like when Ally asks Colin: “Do you think the woman coming out of your apartment could have helped you with the being locked-out problem?”

I liked Chris Evans, Anna Faris, and Ari Graynor (not to mention bonus Zachary Quinto and Martin Freeman!).

And I liked making fun of the bad parts (did Ally’s hair extension really have to catch fire? Was that very necessary to the plot?)

One thing I wish the movie had addressed was Colin’s back story. We know nothing about him, aside from the fact that he comes from a family of cops and that he’s a guitarist in a band.

And there’s  moment or two where the movie hints at something deeper going on in Colin’s life, but the issues aren’t brought up again.

Putting aside the above, certain morals, and the questionable sacredness of guy number 20, I’d say What’s Your Number? was a good movie. Romantic comedies aren’t exactly chock-full of suspense; you know the guy and girl get together in the end. But that’s the fun part. It’s the fairytale romance, the perfect ending, that every girl wants.

I guess that’s what makes this a chick-flick.

* If you liked this post, check out some of my other movie recommendations

2 Responses to “Have You Been With Too Many Guys?”

  1. Devorah January 31, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    i loved this movie!

Whadya think?

