Dear Sir

22 Nov

Dear Sir,

It’s okay when you catcall as I walk by. It’s not the way I’d want anyone I know personally to act, but you’re a stranger. You’re not going to be anything in my life other than the guy who whistled at me. I usually don’t acknowledge you, but I’m not deaf. And sometimes I appreciate it.

But sometimes you go too far. Sometimes you whistle when I know I don’t look good. When I’m having a bad hair day, threw on mismatched clothes, ran out without makeup. And when you do that, you embarrass us both. You belittle the days when I do look good. Those hours spent choosing an outfit, putting on makeup, fixing my hair just so…you’ve reduced them to nothing.

If you’re not even a little circumspect in your trashy praise, then how can I ever take you seriously?

Sincerely,

A girl

2 Responses to “Dear Sir”

  1. Anonymous November 22, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    On behalf of female-kind, thank you.

Whadya think?

