When Books Become Movies

12 Nov

It’s always a little nerve-wracking when books become movies.

You read this book, you think it’s awesome, you draw similarities between it and your own life, you really invest in it. Then along come these hotshots from Hollywood and they tweak the story, they add faces to the names, they make the story their own.

And by doing so, they take it away from you.

The next time you read the book, or go on to the next book in the series, you’ll see the actors’ faces instead of the ones you dreamed up and it’ll all take place on the film sets, as opposed to the settings you had in mind. So much for your imagination.

Don’t get me wrong, sometimes I like movies-based-on-books (Harry Potter comes to mind).

Sometimes the movies are even better than the books (like Lord of the Rings).

But sometimes the story gets butchered. One for the Money

The reason I bring this up is because one of my favorite books will soon be in a theatre near you.

One for the Money by Janet Evanovich is the first book in an 18 book series. It’s a fun, lighthearted read about a newly-divorced woman who becomes a bounty hunter when she finds herself unemployed.

The movie adaptation is due to be released January 27, 2012. And I’m really nervous about it.

The first time I saw the trailer I was…upset. The casting seemed all wrong; from Katherine Heigl downward, every character seemed off. Especially Jason O’Mara as Joe Morelli.

However, I re-watched the trailer and now I’m undecided. I’m not thrilled – but I’ll hold off judgement until I actually watch the movie.

In any case, I recommend the books. They’re breezy and funny, full of explosions and romantic complications.

I only hope I can say the same about the movie.

Do you like movies based on books?

2 Responses to “When Books Become Movies”

  1. anonymoussally November 12, 2011 at 11:25 pm #

    I’d have to agree with you 110% with the gut wrenching feeling you get when you have made this “world” of your own in your mind as you’re reading a book then to find out they made a movie about it. Torn between seeing it or leaving it to your imagination… I for one, read all the ENTIRE Pretty Little Liars series and come to find out, the show didn’t follow the books in the least. Now don’t get me wrong, if you haven’t read a book but saw the movie, the movies are great but ruins the picture you could’ve created by reading before watching. So it all depends on what side of the tracks your on.There are definately some books I would DIE to have come to the big screen… Or maybe not to save the disappoinment.

    • iknowwhathuntsyou November 12, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

      I hear you – that’s why I think it’s better to read books before watching the movie version of them (this is why I read Lord of the Rings before I watched the movies). In the end, I’m usually so curious to see how the books were adapted that I can’t hold back from watching the movies.

Whadya think?

