The Driving Force Behind This Blog

16 Oct

I started writing when I was six years old.

Since then I’ve kept journals and diaries, written short stories and attempted longer ones, and I’ve created poems and scenes and characters.

But when my latest attempt at a novel-length story floundered miserably, I seriously questioned (not for the first time!) the status of “writer” that I’d slapped on myself at some point in my teenage years. Writer’s block plagued me for months, as I thought: Am I a writer if I don’t write?

So I came up with a “Write or Flight” idea – I could either write or…not write.

Though I’ve always been more of a lurker, I decided to start a blog and just write and write as much as I could and refine my writing as I went along.

After all, practice makes perfect. Everyone says so.

It took a few months of toying with this idea till I took the plunge and made it a reality.

I’m thrilled that I did it. Though originally intended solely to keep me writing, this blog has turned into a platform for me to share all the best in entertainment. Keeping this blog is exciting and I enjoy writing for it, finding things to post, and tweaking it.

And I love hanging around it. I kind of feel like I’ve found a new, favorite website 🙂

2 Responses to “The Driving Force Behind This Blog”

  1. Anonymous October 16, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    “floundered miserably” – this is a beating if i ever saw one! i did read some of your writing and it was enjoyable, open, and well written, creative so… of course we strive and hopefuly get to a higher level and see things a bit different as the years travel by, but at that particular time it was good.

Whadya think?

