From Lurker to Contributer

11 Oct

For most of my internet life, I’ve been a lurker. That makes me sound like some forty year old deadbeat perv.

Which I’m not.

I just rarely contributed anything to cyberspace.

I found answers I needed on relevant forums, browsed people’s blogs that I liked, and just plain surfed the web.

I didn’t leave comments (surely, someone else would have the same thought as me and leave a comment), didn’t have twitter (seriously, who needs to know that I just missed my bus?), and didn’t even think of starting a blog (completely unique, like every other kitschy blog out there).

But then I realized that I don’t care if my blog joins the million (or is it billion?) other blogs floating in cyberspace.

Don’t get me wrong: I want my blog to be different and unique etc., etc. My point is, if Joe can blog about pizza toppings, I can blog about what I like.

And I like stories. I like watching them, reading them, listening to them. I like to write them. I like to live them. And I especially love to share them.

And then once I started this blog, I realized that I really needed to make it more accessible. So I started a facebook page. And a twitter account. I participated in a few forums, and I left genuine comments on other people’s blogs.

I’ll tell you – it feels really good. Kind of like I’m socializing.

But it’s HARD. I’ll admit, my initial reaction is not to comment on a blog or what-have-you. But like I said, I’m working on it.

What about you? What’s your online communication like? Are you a lurker?

3 Responses to “From Lurker to Contributer”

  1. kitkatkatie5 October 11, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

    P.S) you don’t have to post this but this was my first comment on wordpress! I didn’t usually pay attention to the “freshly pressed” because I had promoted my old blog other places so I didn’t mingle with the actual wordpress.com crowd. Cheers!

  2. kitkatkatie5 October 11, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    I find that I’m more amiable online. Not that I’m not friendly in real life, it’s just easier to share online. (Dunno if that’s a good thing or not.) I have to restrain myself sometimes. I lurk sometimes if I don’t understand something or I’m thinking about it, but I like contributing as well. It makes me feel a little braver. 🙂

Whadya think?

