What Would You Title This Blog?

3 Apr
The eponymous Fellowship from left to right: (...

I was very eager to start this blog.

I’d just finished a Lord of the Rings marathon; I read all the books and then watched each movie (twice).

So you can imagine my mind was a bit preoccupied with LOTR at the time. I needed a blog title, and “I Know What Hunts You” is – you guessed it – a Lord of the Rings reference.

Specifically when Aragorn asks Frodo if he’s frightened – Frodo replies, “Yes,” to which Aragorn says, “Not nearly frightened enough. I know what hunts you.”

Bah dah dah dum.

It might have been a good title for a blog post, but it wasn’t the smartest choice for my blog name and URL, which is not as easily changeable.

Still, I’m seriously considering changing my blog name, maybe relocating my blog, and I’d like your help! If you have any ideas for a blog name that fits the scope of my blog, please let me know. Nothing’s too silly or obvious, so leave your thoughts in the comments, or contact me directly.

If I end up using your idea, you’ll get a special mention!!

8 Responses to “What Would You Title This Blog?”

  1. A Novel Place April 3, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    First off, I have to tell you how awesome you are for loving The Lord of the Rings. I’m in love with the films and I have been reading the novels for a class. And while the novels are quite long and drawn-out, they’re still epic.
    As for a blog name, I suggest you use something that relates to the sort of person you are or what your blog is about. My blog, for instance, revolves around books, and I always feel like I’m in my happy place when I read – therefore the title A Novel Place was just fitting. I know my advice is vague, but don’t stress too much about it! Leave yours for right now until you have that stroke of brilliance =) And don’t move to another site – WordPress is the best!

    • iknowwhathuntsyou April 3, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

      Thanks for your comment, you’re really sweet! I quite agree with your LOTR statement – I read the books first and rewarded myself with the movies :) I love the name “A Novel Place,” it’s a great title. I noticed your blog URL is different from your blog title, do you think it makes a difference? For instance, when you tell people about your blog, is it confusing?

      • A Novel Place April 3, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

        Yeah, it can be, which is really annoying. But when I had originally started the blog, I had liked the name Bookmark Review. But after some time I realized I was over it and changed the name again. When I get a job this summer I’ll change the url, I just need to figure out how to do that…

      • iknowwhathuntsyou April 3, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

        Right, so that was pretty much my problem as well. This link explains how to change your URL http://en.support.wordpress.com/changing-blog-address/ but all your old permalinks will be broken unless you pay for a site upgrade. I also read about this option http://en.support.wordpress.com/moving-a-blog/ but I don’t really understand it.
        I’m trying to figure out if I want to keep up with this blog, start another wordpress.com one, or if it pays for me to do wordpress.org or another service altogether.
        For what it’s worth, I think “Bookmark Review” is a great name as well, and I’m not just saying that to make you feel good ;)

      • A Novel Place April 3, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

        Haha, thanks! I’m glad you like both names =)

        I actually read WordPress’ support guides for urls but was utterly confused. I would love to switch to .org, but the way I see it is since I’m not actually getting paid for this, why should I put more money into it?

      • iknowwhathuntsyou April 3, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

        I hear you, that’s a large part of what’s holding me back. But it is possible to make money from blogging, lots of people do it. You can make money from ads or by selling a product. There are whole blogs dedicated to making money blogging, like http://www.problogger.net/

      • A Novel Place April 3, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

        Yeah, the only way to do advertising however is if you have your own url (not wordpress.com) or if you go through wordpress.org. I would love to make money off of it! I should seriously consider it – thanks! =)

      • iknowwhathuntsyou April 3, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

        Sure, if you do decide to try it out, I’d love to hear about it. I feel like there’s so much to take in and it could get overwhelming…which is why I’ve only been thinking of it myself and haven’t gone through with it yet!

Whadya think?

