The Jump

14 Feb

There’s nothing for it, but to jump.

Peering over the edge, I almost hesitate. It’s a long way down.

Behind me, some of my friends, well, I say friends but…they’re gesturing wildly, their lips are moving but I can’t make out what it is they’re saying.

There’s a silence in my head, a kind of calm that washes over me.

I’ve pictured this so many times.

I’ve been wanting to do it for a while.

I wonder how long it’ll take till I hit the ground.

I wonder how it will feel. What I’ll be thinking – will my life flash before my eyes? Will I have time to think?

How quick will it be?

If I don’t jump now, I’ll always regret it. I’ve regretted it so many times already.

One last look, and I hurtle myself into nothing. My body arcs out, far and high, like a high-dive Olympian. Or so I imagine.

Seconds feel like years.

It doesn’t feel like falling. But I am. I’m falling.

My heart’s in my mouth and I’m petrified and thrilled. This is the most excited I’ve felt in years.

Below, I see people waiting. They can wait. The end will come soon enough.

The wind rushes, tugging harshly on my clothes. My limbs are flailing, but I manage to bring one hand close.

I pause before deploying the parachute.

I really must do this again sometime.

6 Responses to “The Jump”

  1. Secret admirerer 007 February 16, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    Held my breath till the next page…

  2. marlene February 14, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    yeah, sure, now i’m ready….not,but you are brave!

    • iknowwhathuntsyou February 14, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

      Haha, I’m scared to try it as well – this is a story, nothing more.

  3. Gayil February 14, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    Love it!

Whadya think?

